|

Penalty for striking your caddie?

HAL LENOBEL
Contributing Columnist
golf@lbknews.com

The questions keep coming and that makes me happy. Here are some more inquiries from readers:

 

In a mixed foursome in which the men play from the back tees and the women play from the forward tees, a man hits a tee shot out of bounds. Does his partner play the next stroke from the back tee or the forward tee?

The partner must play from the back tee. Rule 25,19/2.

 

A player, mistakenly believing he has won a hole, picks up his ball-marker. What is the ruling?

The player incurs a one-stroke penalty (Rule 20-1) and must replace his ball. Decision 20-1/8.

 

A player’s ball accidentally strikes his caddie standing out of bounds and comes to rest out of bounds. What is the ruling?

The player incurs a penalty of one-stroke (Rule 19-2) and, since the ball lies out of bounds, he must proceed under Rule 17-1, incurring another penalty stroke.

 

A player’s ball accidentally strikes his caddie standing out of bounds and comes to rest in bounds. What is the ruling?

The player incurs a penalty of one-stroke and, since the ball came to rest in bounds, it is in play — Rule 19-2. Decision 19-2/3.

 

A player marks the position of his ball on the putting green and the ball-marker is so located that it might be of assistance to the opponent or a fellow-competitor in lining up his putt. Accordingly, the player prepares to move his ball-marker one or two club-head lengths to the side, but the opponent or fellow-competitor says he wants the ball-marker left where it is. What is the ruling?

The player is entitled to move his ball-marker to the side. The opponent or fellow-competitor may not insist on its being left where it is in view of the purposes of Rule 8-2b and 22-1. Decision 20-1/11.

 

A player’s provisional ball comes to rest short of where the original ball is likely to be. After a two-minute search for the original ball, the player goes back, plays a second stroke with the provisional ball and then his original ball is found within the five-minute time limit. What is the ruling?

The player must continue play with the original ball. Play of a provisional ball does render the original ball lost until it has been played from the place where the original ball is likely to be or from a point nearer the hole than that place. Rule 27-2b. Decision 17-2b/3.

 

A player puts spin on a ball purposely when dropping it. What is the ruling?

The player incurs a penalty of one-stroke under Rule 20-2a for dropping the ball in an improper manner, unless he corrects his mistake as permitted by Rule 20-6. Decision 20-2a/2.

Tags: , , ,

Longboat Key News

Leave a Reply