LBK Kiwanis awards scholarships

The Kiwanis Club of Longboat Key awarded 20 scholarships at its Aug. 18 breakfast at the Harbourside Grille at the Longboat Key Club. The collegiate recipients were: Romaisa Batool, Christina Mascitto, Sarah Newhall, Anna Cirell, Cindy Ibarra, Jasper Masciocchi, Fatima Paula, Virginia Rossi, Timothy Faila and Michael Long. Manatee Technical Institute recipients were: Celeste Creighton, Stephanie Dolen, Monika Kurucz, Jamie Lamb, Augustin Olvera, Joseph Reda and Brittney Washington. Sarasota County Technical Institute student Joseph Karns and Orlanda Academy of Health & Beauty student Julia Swan also received a scholarship.

Chairman of the Scholarship Selection Committee Weldon Frost opened the ceremony and spoke of the moneymaking events that helped the club raise the scholarship funds: the Valentine Ball, Pancake Breakfast and St. Jude Gourmet Luncheon. Members also contribute $1 each week and often birthday, anniversary or memorial monies.

Tags: , , ,

Longboat Key News

Leave a Reply